ED. RZ 20003/4 2-CD

John McGuire: Works for Instruments

Instrumental compositions by "post-minimalist" John McGuire who took classes with Karlheinz Stockhausen and Gottfried Michael Koenig, among others.

Each of the compositions of American composer John McGuire describes, in its own way, a multi-dimensional sonic space which the listener can take in from various vantage points and, in so doing, experience the very same sound in different guises.

Disc 1
  1. Cadence Music for 21 instruments (1982-85, Ensemble Modern, Director: Ernest Bour)
  2. Exchanges for string quartet and soprano (1998-2002, Julia Rempe, soprano; Pellegrini-Quartett)

Disc 2
  1. Decay for eight horns (1967-70, musikFabrik: Christine Chapman)
  2. Frieze for four pianos (1969-74, musikFabrik)
  3. Music for horns, pianos and cymbals (1981, musikFabrik)

  • Ensemble Modern
  • Julia Rempe Sopran
  • Pellegrini-Quartett: Antonio Pellegrini, Thomas Hofer Violine · Fabio Marano Viola · Helmut Menzler Violoncello
  • musikFabrik: Hermann Kretzschmar, Paulo Alvarez, Irmela Roelcke, Eun-Ju Kim, Ulrich Löffler, Jürgen Kruse Klaviere · Christine Chapman, Jodie Lawson, Charles Putnam, Rohan Richards Hörner · Dirk Rothbrust, Carlos Tarcha Schlagzeug

CD1 44:33 · CD2 58:46 · Total time: 103:20

The scores are published by:

KNRW Logo schwarz
Gefördert von der Kunststiftung NRW

Verfügbarkeit: Auf Lager

Preis: 21.59 Euro